NCSU Turfgrass Students Take Top Honors at National Competition

— Written By N.C. Cooperative Extension

NCSU Turfgrass students Matthew D. Jeffries and Jennifer A. Kimball took some of the top honors in the Graduate Student Oral Competition at the Agronomy Society of America, Crop Science Society of America and Soil Science Society of America International Annual Meetings held in Minneapolis, Minnesota November 15-19, 2015.

Matthew D. Jeffries won first place in the Graduate Student Oral Competition: Turfgrass Cultural Practices, Ecology and Environment. He presented work entitled "Fluctuations over Time in Dislodgeable 2, 4-D Residues from Hybrid Bermudagrass Athletic Fields" with authors: Matthew D. Jeffries, Travis Gannon, Jim Brosnan, Khalied Ahmed, and Greg Breeden. 

Matt is a Ph.D. student in the Department of Crop Science at NC State University under the direction of Drs. Travis Gannon and Fred Yelverton. The title of his dissertation is “Off-Target Pesticide Displacement and Fate in Turfgrass, Riparian and Aquatic Systems.”

He is also a recent recipient of the Chris Stiegler Turfgrass Science Graduate Student Travel Award for the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America Annual Meeting.

Jennifer A. Kimball was awarded third place in the Graduation Student Oral Competition: Turfgrass Breeding and Genetics, Stress Tolerance for her presentation entitled “Genetic components associated with cold tolerance and turf quality traits in St. Augustinegrass” with authors: Jennifer A. Kimball, Susana R. Milla-Lewis, M. Carolina Zuleta, Steven E. Mulkey, Consuelo Arellano, Tan D. Tuong, and David P. Livingston. 

Jenny just completed her Ph.D. in the Department of Crop Science at NC State University under the direction of Drs. Susana Milla-Lewis and Thomas G. Isleib. The title of her dissertation is “Breeding for cold tolerance in St. Augustinegrass using conventional and molecular methods.”

Congratulations to these fine graduate students who continue to bring their best to the NC State turfgrass program!